These are 5 Phases of Grieving after Experiencing Bad Events

Table of contents:

These are 5 Phases of Grieving after Experiencing Bad Events
These are 5 Phases of Grieving after Experiencing Bad Events

Based on the theory, when you are grieving or receiving bad news, everyone will experience 5 phases of grieving, which are denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. In each person, these phases can be passed in different ways, sequences, and times

The theory of 5 phases of grieving was first put forward by a psychiatrist named Elisabeth Kubler-Ross. Thanks to this theory, a psychologist or psychiatrist can help guide a person when he is going through a difficult situation in his life.

These are the 5 phases of grieving after experiencing a bad event - Alodokter

Feelings of sadness and grief are natural responses when someone experiences a bad event or event, be it the death of a family member, divorce, or when diagnosed with a serious illness, such as cancer or HIV. Although it is normal to experience, in fact this feeling is not always easy to get rid of.

5 Grieving Phases You Need to Know

After experiencing a traumatic event or a bad event, a person will go through the following 5 stages of grieving:

1. Denial phase

Denial is the first stage of grieving. At this stage, a person tends to doubt or deny that he is experiencing a bad event. For example, someone who has just been diagnosed with a serious illness may think that there is an error in the diagnosis.

This is a natural human response to minimize the emotional or emotional hurt that is being felt. That way, over time, he will begin to be able to face that reality.

2. Anger phase

After going through the denial phase, someone who is grieving will feel angry and do not accept that he is going through a bad event. It can also make him frustrated, more sensitive, impatient, and experience mood swings.

At this stage, he may also start asking questions like “why me?” or “what did I do wrong, that this should happen in my life?”. This anger can be directed at anyone, be it yourself, others, objects around you, or even God.

3. Bargaining phase

Like a fire that initially burns and then goes out, the angry phase will slowly be replaced.After going through the angry phase, the grieving person will go through the bargaining phase. This is a form of emotional defense mechanism of a person so that he can take back control over his life.

This phase is generally characterized by guilt, either towards oneself or others. In addition, when they enter this phase, they will also look for ways to prevent bad events from happening in the future.

4. Depression phase

After attempts to resist and change the harsh reality they are experiencing are unsuccessful, the grieving person will then feel deeply sad, disappointed, and hopeless. This is part of the normal process of forming emotional wounds.

This phase of depression is generally characterized by feeling tired, crying a lot, having trouble sleeping, losing appetite or overeating, and not being excited to do daily activities.

This phase can be said to be the toughest phase and needs to be watched out for. The reason is, the feeling of grief and emotional pain that is felt can lead to ideas or attempts to commit suicide.

5. Acceptance phase

Acceptance is the final stage of the grieving phase. At this stage, a person is able to accept the fact that the bad event that he experienced really happened and cannot be changed.

Although feelings of sadness, disappointment, and regret may still exist, but at this stage, a person has started to learn and adjust to living with the new reality and accept it as part of his life journey.

In fact, if that person can think positively, they will use the bitter experience they experienced as a lesson to be able to develop into a better person.

Tips to Rise from Bad Events

Everyone will go through each phase of grieving in their own way and time.You may not experience each of the grieving phases above, or you may even go back and forth from one grieving phase to another. These are all normal things and are part of the healing process.

Well, to help you or those closest to you come to terms with the situation and rise from unpleasant events, try to follow some of these tips:

  • Spend more time with the people closest to you. However, if you want to be alone, you can ask for some time alone until you feel better.
  • Avoid harboring deep sorrow alone. Try telling stories or venting with the closest people or people you trust.
  • If you find it difficult to talk to other people, try to pour your heart out by writing a daily journal about your emotions, feelings, dreams, or hopes.
  • Manage stress by doing activities that are fun and can help you relax, for example by exercising regularly, meditating, or praying.
  • Consumption of balanced nutritious food and adequate rest.
  • Avoid poor coping mechanisms, such as consuming alcoholic beverages, using drugs, smoking, or hurting yourself.

Grieving is a part of life that is often unavoidable. However, don't let this happen in a protracted manner.

If you or those closest to you find it difficult to accept the harsh reality after experiencing a bad event, especially if it has caused symptoms of he alth problems, such as depression, anxiety disorders, insomnia, or psychosomatic disorders, it is better to consult a psychologist or psychiatrist, yes.

Popular topic